CURRENT HOURS: Open Wednesday-Saturday, 9am-4pm

Teacher of the Year


2019 Teacher of the Year

The 2019 Teacher of the Year is Debbie Wiley, a 3rd grade teacher at Eason Elementary in Waukee.


Debbie and her 3rd grade teaching team (Kim Harkness, Megan Johnston, and Sarah Volkens) love taking their students to Living History Farms at the end of the school year to wrap up their social studies units. For many years Eason third graders have experienced the Farms and Town Tour at Living History Farms.

Debbie is happy to accept this award on behalf of her entire team. “The Eason 3rd grade teachers are thankful for the incredible learning experience Living History Farms provides the community!”


Nominate a 2020 Teacher of the Year

The award winner will be recognized at the Living History Farms’ Farmstasia event in October 2020, and will receive:

  • A commemorative plaque
  • An invitation to become an ad hoc member of the Living History Farms’ Education Advisory Committee in 2021
  • Free admission to the 2020 Farmstasia event for two people (valued at $300)
  • Free Learning Excursions field trip for up to 50 students during the 2021 general visitor season. (valid during general season hours and dates; does not cover the cost of transportation; not valid for adults; advance registration required; value up to $8.25 per student)

Problems or questions? Email

Nominate a teacher



  • The recipient must be a K-12 teacher who incorporates a program or tour of Living History Farms into their classroom curriculum.
  • Members of the LHF Education Advisory Committee are not eligible.


Who Can Nominate a Teacher

Nominations can come from the teacher, the teacher’s principal, superintendent, peers, or a parent of one of the teacher’s students.


Previous Award Winners

2010: Veralynn Schilling, 2nd grade, Abbie Sawyer Elementary School, Ames

2011: Betty Peterson, 3rd grade teacher, Baxter Elementary School, Baxter

2012: Jackie Scieszinski, 7th grade teacher, Indian Hills Junior High, West Des Moines

2013: Kris Bigler, 5th grade teacher, North Winneshiek Schools, Decorah

2014: Jeanine Lynch, 2nd grade teacher, Lawson Elementary School, Johnston

2015: Lynda Niffenegger, 5th grade teacher, Crossroads Park Elementary School, West Des Moines

2016: Jenny Sinclair, 4th grade teacher, Lakewood Elementary, Norwalk

2017: Sr. Donna Demmer, 5th grade teacher, Resurrection Catholic School, Dubuque

2018: Darice Pamperin, 3rd grade teacher, St. Francis of Assisi Catholic School, West Des Moines

2019: Debbie Wiley, 3rd grade teacher, Eason Elementary, Waukee